Close this search box.

Genome Canada welcomes new Board members

Headshots of two new board members

Genome Canada welcomes Deborah BuszardMuhammad Mamdani and thanks outgoing members for their service.

Genome Canada’s Board of Directors welcomed two new members for their first full Board meeting on September 15. These outstanding leaders from across North America bring a broad range of expertise in innovation, agriculture, plant and data science. 

Drawn from the academic, private and public sectors, Board Directors bring diverse experience to Genome Canada’s governance. Their leadership and vision are vital to our impact as we mobilize the talent and resources of Canada’s genomics ecosystem to tackle major global challenges and improve Canadians’ everyday lives.  

Each Director is appointed for a two-year term, renewable for up to a maximum of six years. 


We are thrilled to welcome two exceptional new leaders to the Board of Directors as Genome Canada charts a bold, impact-focused and inclusive future for genomics research and innovation.

With this exciting news, we also extend our deepest gratitude to the five Board members who completed terms this year. They each played a pivotal role in Genome Canada’s evolution as an engine for cutting-edge solutions and collaborations to build a healthier, more sustainable and prosperous future for all Canadians.

– Elizabeth Douville, Chair of Genome Canada’s Board of Directors


Meet Genome Canada's new Board members:

And a sincere thank you to the Genome Canada Board members who completed their terms in June: Eric Cook, Jim Farrell, Jacques Simoneau, Eddy Rubin, Janet Wightman

Eric Cook
Jim Farrell
Jacques Simoneau
Eddy Rubin
Janet Wightman

Quick facts

Media contact